Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Oct. 02, 2005 - 18:40

OK, I know i have been away for such a long time now and it was my wife who asked me the other day "why don't you write anything anymore?" I guess I have just been busy.

While there has been a slew of things that have gotten my goat (inset bahhh) in the last six weeks number 1 being gas prices today is finally the day i need to say wait a second!

Let me ring this bell and then we will listen to the pretty sound. Today I want to write my resignation letter from my job. The only thing holding me back is 3700 square feet of the american dream and the woman, and animals who share that dream with me.

So here it is I work for an organization that is the worst micro managers in the world, although they are the first ones to tell you they are not. It seems that I have been doing an excellent job managing my budget, keeping inventory low cutting out waste that 75% through the year I had only spent about 55% of my budget. So one day the micronots (notice that play on words? also a little props to the late 70s sci-fi toys) tell me what a great job i have been doing so they take 25,000 away from me to pay the light bill or something. A few weeks later i am chastized for not having more inventory and i should be spending money even though i don't need to.

We i roll with it and just try to let it go then the hurricanes hit and gas goes up to $3.00. Our business isn't one that is considered life or death so we see visitation, and revenue drop significantly. I am now blamed for that because my inventory is low. If only I had another 6 copies of the executive director's book everything would be fine. Doesn't care that the other 24 copies i have of it are still sitting around. Anyway my department is punished i lose another $15,000 out of my budget and my part-time staff is cut 20%. It is now my responsibility to make up september's budget shortfall.

This comes from the same micronots that believe we don't need to advertise because we are such a great place it will get out all we have to do is sit back and collect the admission that we keep raising and in 2006 it will be closer to $20 then to $10 per person. Hummm let me see now people love us so much we aren't going to advertise, and they won't mind paying a boat load of money for it. Business 101 lesson, it is better to get 1000 people paying $10 then it is for 500 people to pay $15. The staff is already there the lights are one come on now that is what happenes when you let assistant manager for the gap and a historian run the business.

So i lost $50,000 and 20% of my staff because times are lean. Instead of taking time to ask "hey what could we do to pick things up?" I am told today that the director has approved $5,000 to put a security system into my department that he is able to moniter from his office and what is even better one of them is going into the space that i use as my office. I say the space i use as my office, because there isn't enough money in the budget to purchase a computer that will run the work station software, you see the software is pc based and i have a mac in my office.

Let me sum this up again:

1) lost $50,000 because i knew how to manage my budget, then was scolded for it.

2) lost 20% of my part time staff due to budget short fall

3) no money in the budget to buy me the tools i need to do my job

4) Executive director "found" $5,000 to put in a security system that he can moniter from his office. One of the spaces he will be peeping on is my make shift office.

So that is why today i am offering my resignation affective january 1, 2006.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!